Weekly Update: 8/17-8/23

I’m linking up with Holly @ HoHo Runs & Tricia @ MissSippiPiddlin for the Weekly Wrap. f0eed-weeklywrap
The first week at my new job went pretty well. It’s been an adjustment getting up even more ridiculously early than normal so that I have enough time to run and shower before work, but it hasn’t been as difficult as I feared. Other than being tired, it’s actually pretty nice to have my run done early and it’s a great way to begin the day. Maybe I should’ve started this sooner?

Monday: rest day/First day at the new job!

Tuesday: 10 miles

All my early week day runs will likely be on the treadmill since it’s just too dark and not entirely safe at that hour.

IMG_7684Wednesday: 5 miles

IMG_7687Thursday: 5 miles with Fleet Feet

We got a little soggy from the rain, but the resulting double rainbow was amazing.

IMG_7704Friday: Orange Theory

We went to the fair later on in the morning which was nice because it wasn’t too crowded yet. I love fair lemonade and Haylie enjoyed seeing all of the animals.

IMG_7712
I don’t think this is the proper way to sit in a high chair.

IMG_7706 Saturday: 21 miles

I met up with a girl from my Fleet Feet running group. She is faster than me, but I kept up with her as long as I could. It’s awesome to have someone pushing you harder than you would normally push yourself.

Overall this way a really good run. It was a bit slower than I had hoped for, but I’m trying to focus on the positive aspects instead. Physically I felt great which is huge. Also I didn’t have any intestinal problems or cramping which is also huge and was a big concern after my terrible 18 miler a few weeks ago. I’m as ready as I’m going to be for my marathon, so now we taper.

IMG_7713Sunday: Orange Theory

I was pretty sore from yesterday’s long run so this may not have been the best idea. I was pretty glad when it was over and I normally love Orange Theory. Tomorrow will be a much needed and well-earned rest day.

Someone figured out that my breakfast smoothies are delicious, so I had to share.
Someone figured out that my breakfast smoothies are delicious, so I had to share.

I hope you all have a wonderful week!

What was the favorite part of your week/weekend?  

If you would like to help me reach my fundraising goal for Girls on the Run, I’m including the link below. Every little bit helps and would be greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance!

Alanna’s Girls on the Run Ragnar Relay Fundraiser Page

28 thoughts on “Weekly Update: 8/17-8/23

  1. It’s great to hear your morning runs are going well. Once you get used to them, you may never go back. Ha, I love your daughter sitting ON her high chair. She is so cute! My long run was slower than I wanted too, but I’ve just had to get over that. This heat and humidity is killer and I can’t run the paces I want to anyway. Congrats on making it to the taper. Enjoy it! Thanks very much for linking with us today.

    Like

  2. Alanna, I’m so glad you joined us again this week! So glad to hear your new job is going great! I love my morning runs, I only do about 3-4, I couldn’t imagine doing 10 before work. It sounds like your marathon training is going great! Mine is in January and I still can’t imagine doing that many miles. I was pretty whooped after only 11 😦 I am very curious, what is this orange theory you talk about??? Thanks again for joining us! Appreciate you!

    Like

    1. I love Orange Theory. It’s such a fun workout. I’m not always the best at explaining things so I’ll quote their website here. If there is one near you, you should check it out!
      “Orange theory Fitness uses the science of Heart-Rate Based Treadmill Interval Training, the efficiency of Indoor Rowing for increased power and the proven concept of Weight Training Blocks to create the fitness level and body you have always desired.”

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Way to go with your training this week, Alanna!! I’m so glad to hear that things are working out well on the job, as well as adjusting to your new schedule; I’m definitely an early morning runner and I’ve been doing it for so long that it’s really tough for me to run later in the day. Haylie is friggin’ cute; I can’t even stand it. That little belly!! Hope your Monday is going well!

    Like

  4. You are going to rock the marathon. I can’t wait to hear how it goes!! And bummer about those early morning runs. I’m stuck on the treadmill right now too and it’s getting old!!

    Like

  5. Looks like you had a great week! Way to go! I had a successful 18 miler on Saturday, so I’m a happy girl. I had to split it between the road/treadmill though because I got rained out 5.5 miles in :/

    Like

Leave a comment