Weekly Update: 8/10-8/16

I’m linking up with Holly @ HoHo Runs & Tricia @ MissSippiPiddlin for the Weekly Wrap. Wow this week just flew by! My last day at my job was on Tuesday and then I start my new job as a pastry teaching assistant on Monday. I was making a cake for my friend’s daughter’s birthday on Sunday so it was nice to have some time to work on that as well as get some extra workouts in. I’m going to keep this one short since I was so long-winded last week.  http://hohoruns.blogspot.com

Monday: rest day

Tuesday: 9 miles

I ran before work since it was supposed to rain in the afternoon. It was surprisingly humid already though. It was strange seeing everything looking so empty at work and for sale signs everywhere.

IMG_7561 IMG_7563 IMG_7566Wednesday: Track workout + Iron Strength

IMG_7579 IMG_7593“Broken Miles”-longer stretches at 10k pace with intervals of “all out” 400s and recovery laps in between

Thursday: Zengo Cycle + 5 miles with Fleet Feet

Friday: rest day

Saturday: 14 miles + cake decorating

This run felt much better than last week and I even remembered to charge my headphones. Hopefully I’m ready for next week’s 20-miler!

It was also quite a nice night to sit outside and relax while Haylie played in the sprinkler.

IMG_7607

IMG_7611Sunday: Iron Strength

We went to the birthday party late in the morning at Bounce U. It was so much fun and a great place to have a party! Haylie really enjoyed all of the jumping. I was really pleased with how the cake turned out and it tasted great as well. I used my white cake recipe with fresh strawberries for the filling.

IMG_7622IMG_7625IMG_7630 IMG_7665 IMG_7669

Don’t forget to check out my Freekeh giveaway! Have a wonderful week!

What are your favorite cake flavors? Have you been to a Bounce U party?

16 thoughts on “Weekly Update: 8/10-8/16

  1. That is a beautiful cake. I love the graduated colors. The bad thing about morning runs is the humidity is at it’s highest. It’s a trade off I guess. You get the cooler temp but WOW it is so muggy. You had a great pace for your 14 miles! Seriously jealous. I am planning a 20 miler this weekend as well. Fingers crossed we both have nice weather and a great strong run! Good luck with your new job this week. Thanks so much for linking with us again!

    Like

  2. Oh wow what a beautiful cake! I use to decorate for friends and family year ago, before everyone got into fondant! I was never really any good at it. I love a good yellow cake with buttercream icing. Not too sweet, just sweet n creamy enough to melt in your mouth! Good luck in your new job and thanks again for linking up with us again this week, we appreciate you!

    Like

  3. That cake is SO AWESOME, Alanna! I couldn’t believe it when I saw the picture you posted on IG; you are a genius! I hope things have gone well during your first day at the new job; can’t wait to hear all about it.

    Like

  4. Good luck with your new job! That’s so exciting. You had some really amazing runs 🙂 And that cake you made is BEAUTIFUL! Almost makes me not want to eat it because it’s so pretty…*almost* haha. Favorite cake is a hard choice to make but I think I’ll always be a fine of carrot or spice cake with cream cheese frosting 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

