Weekly Update: 8/3-8/9

This week I’m linking up with Hoho @ HoHo Runs & Tricia @ MissSippiPiddlin for the Weekly Wrap.  http://hohoruns.blogspot.com

I apologize in advance. This is going to be a pretty long post so thank you for bearing with me.

I accepted a position as a pastry teaching assistant at the school that I attended. I think and hope that it will be a good next step in my career. I’m going to be working 4-10 hours days, which will be nice so I can have three-day weekends, but I’m concerned as to when I’m going to run. That probably sounds silly, but it’s really important to me. I used to run after work because I would be done around 2. Now I will be working 6-4:30 so I will have to go straight to pick up Haylie at daycare. I’m okay with getting up early, but at the same time I need to get sleep. I don’t love the idea of rolling out of bed before 3am so I can run (on the treadmill) and shower, but that may be my best option. I really do not feel that cutting down the days that I run is an option for me. I think that would make me crazy. I may not have as much time to blog or do other things either. There will certainly be a period of adjustment. I’m excited for this new opportunity and taking the next step in my life.

On to the rest of my week…

Monday: rest day

Tuesday: 10 total miles (4 before work & 6 after)

My morning run was nice since the temperature was in the 60s. It actually felt a little cool until I started moving then I quickly warmed up. My afternoon run was pretty rough though. By then the temperature was 90 and it was very humid. I had to stop every 2 miles to let my heart slow down and catch my breath. In retrospect I probably should’ve hit the treadmill, but I’m afraid that I will be spending a lot of time there with the hours at my new job so I wanted to get outside while I still could.

IMG_7484 IMG_7486Wednesday: Track workout (200, 400, 600, 600, 400, 200, 200) & Iron Strength

This was such a fun track workout. I really like the 200s because you can go all out and not worry about saving any energy for the end since it’s over so quickly. Next week will be the last track workout for me because of my new work schedule so I’m a little bummed about that.

IMG_7488Thursday: 5 miles with Fleet Feet

This was a nice run too. The temperature felt great until we started running and realized it was still quite humid, but I enjoyed chatting with the group. I feel like runs are usually more enjoyable when they are shared with others.

My husband and I watched The Maze Runner that night. It was a good movie, but I was surprised by the ending. They obviously left it open for the sequel. That’s the first new movie that I’ve watched in a while and the latest that I’ve been up. So it was pretty exciting.

Friday: rest day

I had the day off work so we decided to go to a near by shopping center and walk around. We fed the geese and duckies, played on the playground and rode the carousel. It was all fun and games until we went to Starbucks. We bought Haylie one of those little squeeze fruit packages and I put her bib on. For whatever reason she did not want to leave her seat at Starbucks or take her bib off. So we promptly headed home after her meltdown began. Never a dull moment. 🙂IMG_7512Saturday: 18 horrible miles

I really have no idea what happened here. I’m incredibly grateful that my legs felt fine, but everything else was horrible. I had started to get a cold on Thursday, which Haylie had already been dealing with for several days at that point, so I was surprised that it took me that long to get sick. I’ve run with colds and sinus infections before so that’s not a big deal, but then I started having some intestinal distress followed by severe cramping. I didn’t do anything different from normal so this was really frustrating for me. Sometimes I get a little bored always running the same routes, but this day I was glad that I did because I knew where all of the port-a-potties were. So at least a bad situation wasn’t made even worse. Also my Bluetooth headphones died a little more than half way through the run. I really need music during long runs by myself so I wasn’t pleased about that either. It was my own fault though. I had thought about charging them when I was laying out everything that I needed Friday night, but decided that they were fine. Lesson learned.  It wasn’t a horrible pace, but my 16-miler 2 weeks prior was so much better all around. Here’s hoping that next week’s long run is better.

IMG_7520

My favorite (and only) pair of motivational socks. I wear them on all of my long runs and races.
My favorite (and only) pair of motivational socks. I wear them on all of my long runs and races.

 

IMG_7524
the importance of foam rolling

 

IMG_7531
my laundry washing helper

Sunday: Orange Theory

It was endurance day. Thank you Orange Theory, that’s just what I needed the day after an 18 mile run. 🙂

IMG_7542Later we went to the beach and had fun there. Haylie was able to overcome her initial fear of the waves. She’s so darn cute! We had a great weekend! I’m only sad that it had to end.

IMG_7553 Have a wonderful week!

I would really love your thoughts/suggestions as to when I should make time to run with my new work schedule? Have you ever been in a similar situation? Do you have any tips on dealing with intestinal issues during a long run/race?

18 thoughts on “Weekly Update: 8/3-8/9

  1. Congrats on your new job! Teaching will be a lot of fun I bet! I would love to take a class of yours 🙂 as for the terrible 18 miler…sometimes our bodies just rebel! But I have to say for a sucky run you kept an amazing pace! Great job!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for the encouragement, Sue! I really appreciate it. I did stop my watch for the bathroom breaks, as I’m not anticipating requiring any during a race. At least I really hope that I don’t!

      Like

  2. Congrats on the new position! Yes it will take some adjustment for your new schedule to shake out! I would be tempted to do my training runs on the 3 days I am off and do my cross training on a couple days after work. It may take a few weeks but I bet your schedule shakes out! Good luck!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Mary Beth! It’s just hard to do any type of training after work with my daughter around. Although trying to keep up with her is a workout in and of itself. 🙂
      I’m sure it will all work out. I just have to be patient and figure things out as I go.

      Like

  3. Haylie is such a cutie. I love that she enjoys foam rolling too. Congrats on your new position! I know you must be excited. Remember, time is your friend and not your enemy. You can make it work for you. I used to once balk at getting up early. But when it came to being the only option for my run (I had to get my kids to varying bus stops at 6 a.m. and already be showered myself) I did it. You get used to it. 3 a.m. just SOUNDS bad. LOL. I think you had a great pace for 18 miles! I had a pretty bad long run myself. Like you, I had a better one the week before so I know they aren’t all bad. Thanks so much for link up with us today. I really appreciate it!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much! I think she’s pretty cute too, but I’m a little bias. 🙂
      I’ll try to remember that time is my friend. Thanks for hosting the link up. Such a fun idea!

      Like

  4. 18 miles!!! Get it girl!!! I find that after about 7 miles my insides are not happy with me. I often have to hold the butt cheeks a bit tighter and when I get home…it is ON!!! Sorry-TMI!

    What time does your child care close? Could you work something out with the care giver to give you a few extra min to fit in a run? Waking up at 3 am and running on the treadmill sounds torturous! Sorry.

    I am soooooooooooooooooo going to miss you at the track workouts…you and Sarah are my pushers. I have to take a break for 2 weeks due to yet another injury-uugh!!

    I hated the end of the maze runner!!! but looking forward to the sequel.

    Have a great week.

    Like

    1. I don’t think that anything is TMI these days. I now insist upon showing my husband when my toenails fall out, like it’s some sort of prize or something.
      I could leave Haylie at daycare longer, but I really don’t want to. I will only get to see her for about 3 hours on weekdays with the new schedule so I would really hate to make it even less. I think that I’ll just have to suck it up and get up even earlier. I didn’t think that was possible. We do what we’ve gotta do.
      I’m really going to miss the track workouts. They have been so fun and motivating. I really think that they have helped tremendously with my speed. Sarah is my idol. I want to be her when I grow up! lol. Sorry to hear about your injury! Feel better!
      Have a great week, Tamieka!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m so glad you participated in our link up Alana! Congratulations on your new position! I know it seems hard now but you’ll get into a routine with your running and everything will work out! Plus I’m so jealous of the 3 day weekends you’ll have! I see some familiar faces in your group run photo! Wonder if you could swap up a play date with the other runners to get a run in? You know rotate who runs and who watches the kids? Just an idea. I think Haylie is cute as a bug and just wow at your 18 mile run! I can’t even keep that pace up on a 5k! Hope you have a wonderful week!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Tricia! I’m sure everything will be great once I find a new routine that works. Things just take time to figure out. 3 day weekends do rock! I love that play date/run idea. Have a great week!

      Like

  6. What a cutie you have 🙂 She is precious.
    I feel your pain with ten hour days That is my summer work schedule, after the kids get out of school, office staff works 7 – 5 pm. until school starts. I always struggle to adjust even though I’ve done it for years lol It is a long day. I do go out at 5 or 5:30 a.m. and run a short run a few times a week. I do a long run on Friday, since I exhausted from working alll week I go to bed early anyway. It takes me a good month to start to enjoy the schedule and then I go back to 5 days a week anyway lol
    Watching sunrise and sunset is good for the soul. Pretty pics.
    Good luck with the new job!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Karen! That’s a pain that your schedule switches around like that. Just when you get used to it, it changes again. I agree that watching the sunrise and set is good for the soul. It’s so amazingly beautiful to witness.

      Like

  7. With a schedule like that I run the 3 days off from work & figure out a way to run one of the other days…. maybe get a babysitter one evening a week ?

    Like

    1. Thanks for the idea, Karen. I just feel guilty spending even less time with my daughter than I’m already going to during the week. I’ll figure something out.

      Like

  8. Alanna, unfortunately, I’m with Holly (HoHo Runs); I think I’d probably have to get up early and then try to get to bed as soon as I could after Haylie hits the hay in the evening. I know it doesn’t give you much time for YOU in the evening, but running would have to be your YOU time, I suppose. I’ve gotten up really early like that in the past, as well; it’s definitely manageable and, like she said, you get used to it. I know myself well enough to know that workouts late in the day are NOT going to happen, so I have to do them EARLY…I get up at 4 am pretty regularly – ha! Keep us posted! You’re going to do great and congratulations!!

    Like

    1. You are absolutely right, Tara. I tend to lose motivation as the day goes on, so evening workouts are not a good idea. I like starting my day with a run and getting off to a good start. Thanks so much!

      Like

  9. Alanna, you amaze me with your dedication! How many days a week do you normally run – 5? And you want to keep it like that? So I would definitely run the 3 days you’re off…then you only have to adjust your schedule for 2 of the the 4 working days! It sounds really brutal to have a 3am wake up call, but seriously don’t stress too much about running on the treadmill. It’s been a GREAT tool for me and there are ways to make it more interesting (my advice: don’t plan on doing super easy runs on the treadmill; they’re wayyyy too boring). Good luck!!!

    Like

    1. I normally do about 4 runs per week and one cross training day, which is usually Orange Theory and still involves running. I think that’s a good plan to get up early just the 2 days. Thanks for the advice!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

