Warm Breakfast Freekeh Recipe – and Giveaway!

IMG_7459I was pretty excited when Sweat Pink had this opportunity to participate with Freekeh Foods. I love to try new things! One serving of freekeh has 6 grams of protein and 4 grams of fiber.

IMG_7508“Freekeh is a process which means “to rub” in Arabic. Freekeh was created by accident nearly 2,000 years ago when a Middle Eastern village was attacked and their crop of young green wheat was set ablaze. Most folks would sulk over their misfortune, but the crafty villagers rubbed off the chaff, cooked it up and “Eureka!” Freekeh was created. We’re proud to offer you this tasty, nutritious ancient grain with a funny name.”

I received two packages of Freekeh to review, the original and rosemary sage. There is also a Tamari flavored one. You can do almost anything with Freekeh from having it for breakfast to soups and salads to stuffed peppers. They have several recipes listed on their website or you can just use your own creativity. I haven’t had a chance to try the rosemary sage one yet, but I think when I do I will try some version of the vegetarian stuffed pepper recipe. That’s right up my alley, being a vegetarian myself.

So I decided to give the Original flavor a try first. I love breakfast foods, but I get up so early for work that I don’t really have the time or motivation to cook on week days. This is great for a weekend breakfast when you have a little more time since it does take about 25 minutes to cook. Luckily though once you get it started there’s not much to do but wait.

IMG_7500Of course there are many other ways that you could utilize the original flavor, I decided to go with the warm breakfast freekeh.

IMG_7502It was nice and easy to prepare, only requiring water, vanilla, cinnamon and butter. I decided to use almond milk in place of the water for a richer flavor. IMG_7503

And now we wait…..IMG_7504

Once it was done I added some Greek yogurt for some extra protein and creaminess as well as some blueberries. I also sprinkled a little extra cinnamon on top because I can never get enough cinnamon. IMG_7506I enjoyed this yummy breakfast treat. It was a nice hearty meal so that I didn’t get hungry again right away. I love that there is so much that you can with Freekeh.

IMG_7528I actually had a lot leftover so I enjoyed it for breakfast again the next after my long run. I just reheated it with more almond milk then I added some brown sugar, Greek yogurt, blueberries, strawberries and more cinnamon. It was even more delicious the second time around! My daughter liked it too.

So…. do YOU want to try some freekeh? I’m having a giveaway so one lucky reader can win!

GIVEAWAY

(click on the image below to enter)

freekeh-foods-flavors

A winner will be chosen at random on August 28, 2015. So go ahead and enter to win your chance to try Freekeh foods!

**US Residents only, please.

I was selected for this opportunity as a Sweat Pink ambassador and the content and opinions expressed here are all my own.

6 thoughts on “Warm Breakfast Freekeh Recipe – and Giveaway!

Leave a Reply

