Weekly Update: 7/27-8/2

It was a pretty good week of both running and job opportunities. I received an offer letter though I’m not sure that I will take the job just yet. It’s a good opportunity for my career, but the schedule could prove to be difficult. So I’ve got some things to figure out this week. I also had another interview on Monday that I’m still waiting to hear back on. All these job interviews are making me a little crazy which is I why I need to run. 🙂
Monday: 3 miles
Tuesday: 8 miles on the treadmill @ 8 min. pace
Wednesday: 4.75 miles done at the track with the Luna Chix + Iron Strength
The track workout consisted of a 1600/1200/800/400/200 with one lap recovery in between plus 3 laps warmup and a 2 lap cool down.
We receive points for attending the Luna Chix workouts and once you get to 10 you get a prize. So today I got a visor and socks. Yay! I do so love prizes.
IMG_7452
Thursday: 8 total miles
I ran 4 miles before work and 4 after with Fleet Feet. I finally got to try out my runningluv today. I have to admit that it’s really nice to have something to wipe my sweat on besides my hands and shirt. I hardly noticed that it was there other than when I needed to use it. I actually wish that I had ordered more than one.
IMG_7455
Friday: rest day
It’s funny that when I first started seriously running that I looked forward to my rest days so much. Now I really don’t at all. My day feels like there is a void in it somehow if I don’t run. Plus I get an overall sense of laziness.
Saturday: Iron Strength
Sunday: 12 miles
I met up with some friends from my Thursday night Fleet Feet group for a run. It was so nice to have company and to run somewhere new. The run itself wasn’t as good as the previous week’s long run. I have got to learn, the hard way apparently, that I can’t do Iron Strength the day before a long run. It’s a great workout, but it leaves my legs feeling tired for sure. So I was dragging a little during this run, but I got it done.
I’ve been fighting with this blister on my middle toe and apparently now I’ll be losing that toenail too. Oh well it was nice having all 10 toenails while it lasted.
IMG_7460I was asked by a friend to make this Paris themed baby shower cake shortly after we returned from our own Paris trip. So naturally I was very excited to make it and I was happy with how it turned out.
IMG_7473
I received this little poem in an email from Fleet Feet and it really resonated with me so I wanted to share it.
It’s a daily goal, and a life-long aspiration.
It’s at once a physical act, and an emotional journey.
It’s a foundation of health, and a pinnacle achievement.
It takes time. It gives you years.
It moves you away and brings you closer.
It is empowering. It is humbling.
It creates interaction. It enables solitude.
It tears down insecurities. It builds communities.
It takes a lot, but it gives so much.
It is The Power of Running.
#TPOR
Have a wonderful week!
Do you like finding new places to run? How do you feel about rest days?
7 thoughts on “Weekly Update: 7/27-8/2

  1. What a great week running – whenever I’m stressed, running helps so much. Job interviews would totally stress me out but I’ve seen the looks of those goodies you make- anyone would be crazy not to hire you! Speaking of which, your cake looks fab! Your poor toe – I can sympathize with you on that one. Soooo painful! I lost 4 toenails this year but they grew back. It’s the weirdest thing ever! I love finding new places to run and not running totally gets me anxious, soooo I cross train. I do need to start incorporating a rest day and plan to start in the fall when school starts again. I just get so antsy!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Allison! I’ll take all of the encouragement that I can get right now. 🙂
      Toenail loss is such a bummer. I rarely have all ten of them. I really need to fix up my bike so that I can ride it once again. Hopefully I’ll get around to it one of these days.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ughhh I’m sorry about your toe. I’m missing my big toenail on my right foot right now. So gross.
    Congrats on the job opportunity and good luck making a decision on it! Whatever you decide I know you’ll be great!

    Like

  3. I actually love my rest days and my body definitely needs then. After almost 4 years of running hard I can finally let myself rest of I need it which is a great feeling! That cake is soooo cute!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

