Weekly Update: 7/20-7/26

Yikes! How is it almost August already? Slow down already Summer! It was a pretty busy week for me, between trying to fit in all of my workouts and getting more hours at work due to being short-staffed, all while trying to find a new job. I feel like I managed it all okay, but I’m certainly exhausted. I had some very early mornings at work, but also saw some amazing sunrises. There has to be some perks to being up that early right?

Monday: rest day

Tuesday: 8 miles (on the treadmill after work)

Wednesday: track workout + Iron Strength

200, 400, 600, 800, 800, 600, 400, 200 ladder for a total of 4 miles, with the warm up and cool down

IMG_7391Thursday: 5 miles with Fleet Feet

I made some delicious bananas foster filling to go in chocolate cups at work. It’s also fun setting food on fire early in the morning.

IMG_7404IMG_7411Friday: rest day

It was a busy day at work today so I was glad to take a rest day. I also had another job interview after work. Luckily the interview was at a coffee shop so I was able to re-caffeinate myself beforehand.

IMG_7413Saturday: 16 miles

I felt great during this run and it was the longest run that I’ve had since Rock’n’Roll DC in the Spring. Yay! I really don’t like carrying anything extra on my long runs if I don’t have to, so I planned out a few different loops that added up to the 16 miles that I wanted to run. (I really need to get a hydration vest one of these days. I just don’t want to break down and spend the money, but I do have my eye on the Nathan Intensity.) These lovely loops enabled me to make quick stops by my house to refuel and get some water. It was perfect! Really one of those runs where everything just clicked. I was feeling it a little the next morning though.

Later we took Haylie to a farm that’s not too far from where we live. You can pet pretty much all of the animals there, which is really neat. Haylie walked right up to this calf, said “hi” and started petting it. She cracks me up. There was even a random kangaroo there.

IMG_7416IMG_7426IMG_7422IMG_7427Sunday: Orange Theory

It was strength day, which includes going all out on a 9% incline. Why do they try to kill me?! Seriously though, I was pouring sweat by the end of that workout. Monique is one of the best trainers and she really motivates me to push myself.

We went to a nice brunch with my cousin at Matchbox. I got the huevos rancheros which are always so good! I wanted to try theย frittatas, but wasn’t feeling that adventurous.

I hope you all have a wonderful week! Thanks for stopping by!

What’s your favorite brunch menu item? Isn’t a great run so motivating?

8 thoughts on “Weekly Update: 7/20-7/26

  1. Amazing 16-miler!! Your pace is so fantastic! Did I miss an announcement at some point because it seems like you are marathon training?! But for the life of me, I can’t remember if you mentioned what marathon you are training for.
    Huevos rancheros are a perfect brunch item! Not gonna lie though, I usually go for the mimosas ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    1. Thanks, Charissa! That’s kind of a tricky question, but I’ll have a better answer for you by Saturday. I am unofficially marathon training. I’ve been wanting to run this marathon back home in Pennsylvania and I just realized that this year it is taking place while we happen to be home. So I’ve been debating signing up for it. I’m not expecting to PR, but if I could that would be amazing. Even more amazing would be to BQ, but I don’t think that I’m there yet. I’m also behind in training since I hadn’t really planned on doing a marathon for a while. I still feel like it would be a fun race and also good preparation for the Ragnar DC that I am officially doing October. Anyway, the price is going up this weekend so if I’m going to actually sign up now is the time.
      I do enjoy mimosas. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Dang girl, you are getting speedy!! Great job!! I just had brunch at Matchbox yesterday and had the breakfast pizza, OMG was it good!!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Sue! I think all of those track workouts are really paying off. That breakfast pizza is awesome. I used to go to Matchbox a lot when my friend’s husband was a chef there.

      Like

Leave a Reply

