Out with the Old & In with the New

This week I am retiring my Nike Structures. It’s a little sad. These were the first pair of Nike’s that I’ve purchased in a long time and I loved them. I don’t normally get too attached to a particular pair of shoes, but I feel like this pair and I really bonded during the truly awful and incredibly cold runs this past winter. This was also the pair that I wore while training for and then running in the Rock’n’Roll DC half. That half marathon was quite the experience in and of itself. They had a good life and it was time for me to move on. I decided to mix things up a little this time around and got a pair of Mizuno Wave Inspires. They are super cute, even though my husband says that they remind him of a watermelon. This is my first pair of Mizunos so I’m hoping that they are a good fit for me. I’m really liking them so far.

In other news, I will be out of a job next month, if not before then. While I’m ready to move on, it is sad to see the place where I’ve spent the last 3 years of my life closing down. Like I said before, I’m sure that this is a blessing in disguise and it will all work out. If anyone is in need of a pastry chef on their staff please let me know. 🙂

I’m looking forward to what the future has in store for me, despite my fear of the unknown. Happy Thursday!

12 thoughts on “Out with the Old & In with the New

  1. I hope these shoes work out for you! Unfortunately mizunos do not work for my feet. I tried out these same ones and they felt great until about 4 miles and ended up giving me blisters 😦 They’re super light weight though so I hope you like them!!

    Hoping that everything fits into place and you’ll be happy in your new situation! Like you said, the unknown is very scary, but you can make it through!

    Like

    1. Sorry to hear that the Mizunos didn’t work out for you. Everyone’s feet are so very different.

      I’ll certainly make it through this. Thanks for the encouragement, Gretchen!

      Like

  2. Sorry to hear about your job, Alanna. I hope another amazing opportunity is right around the corner for you though! And those shoes are very pretty 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m in need of a pastry chef in my kitchen.? 🙂 pay would be sucky though. haha. that’s awesome that you’re a pastry chef
    I’ve always wanted to try Mizunos, I’ve heard great things about them. But I just can’t cheat on my Asics. lol

    Like

  4. Oh no! So sorry to hear that you lost your job! I’m sure you will find something even better. In the meantime maybe we should meet for coffee 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

