Weekly Update: 7/6-7/12

Well this was certainly an interesting week. It’s probably not one that I care to repeat, but this too shall pass. I’m very grateful for all that I have in my life. I have a great support system of family and friends. My husband has been my rock. He’s really great about going with the flow and supporting my decisions.

My workouts were pretty good at least.

Monday: Iron Strength Core Blast Workout

Tuesday: 5 miles

Wednesday: 4 miles

This is when the week took a turn for the interesting. I was all set to go to my track workout on Wednesday morning only to discover a flat tire. I was more upset about missing that workout than the actual flat tire. I had to wait for AAA to come put on my spare. Luckily I was able to get a run in with my friend at work that morning. I thought that I would be able to get the tire patched, but no such luck. I ended up going to Costco to purchase a new tire and it was going to be at least a 2 hour wait. My friend was kind enough to take my back to work then back Costco to pick up my car later.

Thursday: 5 miles with Fleet Feet

We were told at a meeting today that our company is being absorbed by another, smaller catering company. So we will be downsizing and moving to a new location. We are each going to have a one-on-one meeting to discuss our future with the company. My meeting is on Tuesday, so in the meantime I have no idea if I will have a job after next month, which is when the lease on our current space is up. Perhaps this is a blessing in disguise. I’m not really sure what to think right now honestly, but I am sure that I’ll figure something out and land on my feet. Things like this seem to be a risk that you take working in this industry.

I did made this yummy cake at work! It is a birthday cake, recipe courtesy of Christina Tosi at Momofuku milk bar

IMG_7215IMG_7217

My Mexican sunflowers are blooming! These are some of my favorite flowers just because they are so pretty looking. The petals are orange underneath which I think is so cool. IMG_7229

Friday: rest day/grocery shopping

IMG_7249

Saturday: 10 miles

I ran 2 miles by myself then met up with one of the ladies from my Ragnar team to run another 8 miles. It was a little rainy, but it felt pretty nice and it wasn’t too hot.

IMG_7257

I tried the chocolate chip cookie dough Yasso bars before and they were really good, but these sea salt caramel ones are amazing! It’s hard to eat just one at a time. If you haven’t tried these yet, you really should! Plus they are pretty much guilt free. What’s not to love?!

IMG_7259

Sunday: Orange Theory

It was ESP (endurance strength power) day and I definitely felt like I got a good workout in. Then off to wash some laundry. We concluded the weekend by watching How to Train Your Dragon 2, which was a really cute movie. Sometimes you never know how it will go with sequels, but this one was good. I’m a sucker for almost all kid movies. They just make me happy.

I hope you all have a wonderful week! Happy Monday!

Have you tried these sea salt caramel Yasso bars?! What’s your favorite snack? What’s your favorite “kid” movie?

8 thoughts on “Weekly Update: 7/6-7/12

  1. Salted caramel-yum! Never tried them but surely I need to!

    Uuugh-about your job. I hope things turn out the way you would like.

    Still mad at myself for missing Sat’s run 😦 -i ended up running 5 miles later that day.

    Favorite kid movie-lion King. We watched Malicent (with Angelina Jolie) last night-it was actually really good.

    Have a good week and hope to see you on Wednesday.

    Good luck with your mtg on Tues.

    Like

  2. YOU MADE THE MOMOFUKU CAKE. I want to eat that. Or make that. I have it pinned. I love the momofuku crack pie – I make that one every so often and literally eat it until it’s gone! Great job on your workouts, too 🙂

    Like

  3. Wow, what a tough week! I hope that you’re happy with whatever happens (not sure what would be the best situation for you, so I’m just hoping for the best for you!). Also, that cake looks AMAZING! When I was in NYC I really wanted to go to milk bar, but the line was insane. Maybe next time! I love watching her on Master Chef 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Gretchen! I’m not really sure what the best situation is at this point either. I’m figuring it out as I go along. They are opening a Milk Bar in DC and I would love to go and check it out!

      Like

  4. I haven’t tried the salted caramel, but I’m obsessed with the mint chocolate chip ones! I buy them in bulk at costco 🙂 Fingers crossed for your job!! That cake looks adorable! Love it!

    Like

    1. Mint chocolate chip sounds amazing too! Mint and chocolate are a long time favorite combination of mine. I need to get a Costco membership. Thanks so much, Sue!

      Like

Leave a Reply

