Friday Five: 4th of July!

DC_linkupIt’s the Friday Five with: Cynthia, Mar, and Courtney today! Today’s topic is 4th of July! It’s nice to have an extended weekend, which doesn’t usually happen during the holidays in the food service industry. I’ll try to make the most of it. This week I’m sharing five ways that I’ll be celebrating the Fourth of July.

1. Running: I’m hoping to have a nice long run on the 4th of July. It looks like the weather may have other plans though. I had thought about switching my run to Friday since the weather looked much more promising, but I really wanted to sleep in a little. By a little, I mean 6am because my evil bird refuses to sleep in any later than that and is apparently starving to death at that point. I always find it amusing that I can’t sleep in because of a bird, one would think that it would be my daughter who hates sleeping in. 🙂

2. Relaxing: Sometimes it’s just nice to relax. If we lived closer to home I’m sure that we would have a family picnic to go to, but it’ll just be the three of us this year. During the week life seems to get so hectic sometimes, so it’s nice to have a moment to breathe.

3. Grilling/Trying not to eat all of the things: My husband loves to grill which is awesome. It’s healthier for you and also doesn’t generate many dishes or heat up the house. On Wednesday, we had a picnic at work at which I ate all of the things, including a piece of the cake that I had made. I hardly ever get to actually taste my own cake, but I’ve gotta say that it was pretty tasty. I made a lemon cake filled with raspberry mousse then iced in a Swiss meringue buttercream. Perfectly refreshing for summer. I also love the way the inside of cake looks when it’s sliced. So cool!



4.Playing with Haylie: I’ll be spending lots of time playing with Haylie, hopefully outside. I took her to Old Navy the other day and picked her up a few tank tops and a new swim suit since they were having a sale. She found this wall of bracelets, which she loves. She calls them her “pretties” which is adorable. We brought her back three more to add to the collection from our trip to Paris. Luckily I was able to get her to pick out one instead of the half-dozen or so that she had tried on.

  

Sometimes I don’t think that Haylie is like me at all and she got all of her genes from her father, but let me tell you that she put away some cake and ice cream at that party. Yep, that’s all me! She got her momma’s sweet tooth for sure. 🙂

5. Fireworks: I think it’s actually been a few years since we’ve seen the fireworks, but I’m hopeful that we can this year. They are just so fun to watch! I also think Haylie might be old enough to enjoy them now.

Have a great July 4th Holiday! Happy Birthday America! What are your plans for the Fourth?

8 thoughts on “Friday Five: 4th of July!

  1. Omg Haylie is way too cute.!! what a little cutie you have.
    Have a great 4th of July with your little family 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

