Weekly Update: 6/15-6/21

Monday- rest day and stitches. I managed to cut my elbow on a glass shelf in the bathroom at work to the point where it required stitches. Of all the cuts and burns that I have received over the years, this is the first one that required a trip to Urgent Care. It’s annoying since I wasn’t even working at the time, but I guess that’s what happens when you are accident prone. So I won’t be doing any planks for at least 2 weeks until I get these stitches out.

Tuesday- 3 miles on the treadmill. I really wanted to try out my new water bottle, but my husband said that the heat index was over 100 after work so I decided to hit the treadmill instead. The treadmill usually isn’t as bad as I think that it is going to be, as long as it’s a shorter run. I just have to win that mental battle to deal with it.

Wednesday- Track workout in the morning. 800 warm up, 2400 at an optimal 5k race pace followed by a 4X800 relay ending with an easy pace 800 cool down.

Thursday- 7.91 total miles

I ran 3.6 miles with a co-worker before work again. I kind of like these double workouts even though it is a challenge. It’s good preparation for me anyway.

IMG_6944We took Haylie to her very first swim class! My husband went in with her since I had to get to my Fleet Feet run right after, but it was fun to watch them. She seemed to do pretty well with it.

IMG_6963Later I ran 4.31 miles with Fleet Feet. It wasn’t as hot as the previous week, but that humidity was a killer so we decided to pass on that 5th mile again.

Friday- rest day

IMG_6989
Don’t forget to roll!

Saturday- 8.71 total miles

Loving my new shirt that I got from Fleet Feet!
Loving my new Fleet Feet shirt!

I woke up early and ran a 5k by myself. It was crazy humid, so I was already pouring sweat when I met up with Tamieka @ Fit Balling Running Mom. We ran ~5.61 miles together. The theme for the day seemed to be hills, humidity and dog poo. Yes, somewhere down the line we stepped in dog poo. Neither one of us had any idea when this occurred but I went home and had to pressure wash my shoes. They will be airing out for a few days. I’m grateful that I have a back up pair!

IMG_7001I wore my Lily Trotters for the run. If you haven’t had a chance, go check them out! You don’t know what you’re missing. “Built with a revolutionary micro-nylon weave strong enough for a marathon, thin enough to rock your favorite shoes, and sassy enough to go beautifully anywhere life takes you. Made right here in the USA.”

Then we went to the beach in celebration of Father’s Day. Haylie wasn’t too excited about the sand or the water but they had a playground that she loved. Someone got brave all of a sudden and was going down the slides by herself! She loved it and was so adorable.

IMG_7002Sunday- Orange Theory

I’m excited to announce that I’m going to be running Ragnar DC in October to benefit Girls on the Run! I feel like this opportunity was meant for me. I’ve really been wanting to participate in Ragnar and also do something to help with Girls on the Run, so it’s the best of both worlds! I feel badly abandoning my family for 2 days, but this is such a wonderful opportunity. I can’t wait! Have a wonderful week everyone!

Have you ever run a Ragnar Relay Race? Any tips?

10 thoughts on “Weekly Update: 6/15-6/21

    1. Thanks, Gretchen! I’ll certainly be excited when I can get the stitches out next week. Tomorrow is supposed to be crazy hot! Not looking forward to that one.

      Like

    1. That would be awesome! I will definitely check out your recaps. I certainly appreciate any advice that I can get. I’m so excited for the experience!

      Like

  1. Oh no! I’m sorry about your elbow! I hope it’s feeling better and SO COOL that you’re doing a Ragnar! I have no experience with them, but really want to do one in the near future!

    Like

  2. Yeah ragnar!!! I get more and more excited every day and it 4 months away! lol!!!

    Swimming-I need to get the kids into that-Maddyson ‘swims’ in the tub all the time-ha!

    Hope your elbow heals up soon-that is so crazy!

    see you soon

    Like

    1. I know! I’m so excited about it too!

      We’ve been talking about taking Haylie swimming since she was one, almost a year ago. My husband was on top of finally making that happen.

      Thanks so much! See you soon!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great workouts and mileage! Hope the elbow heals up soon!
    Haylie looks like she really enjoys the swimming thus far 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Charissa! I’m excited to get these stitches out on Monday. We took Haylie to her 2nd swim class last night. It’s really fun to watch her smile and laugh. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

