Five Things that Make Me Happy

DC_linkupIt’s the Friday Five with: Cynthia, Mar, and Courtney today! Today’s topic is Five Things that Make Me Happy.

1. Haylie- Becoming a mother has been such an amazingly wonderful and challenging experience. She makes me want to be a better person and to take better care of myself so that I can be around for a long time to come. I hope that I can set a good example for her. I just can’t imagine my life without her.

2. Dr. Markley- We’ve been together for 12 years now. It’s so crazy how time flies. I give this man all the credit in the world for putting up with all of my crazy ways. I know it’s not easy. He’s my rock and he’s a truly wonderful person. He works very hard to ensure that Haylie and I are well taken care of. Not to mention he took me to Paris! He’s a keeper for sure and I’m grateful that he’s part of my life.

3. My Parents- I’m so lucky to have a supportive and understanding family. They have given up a lot for me over the last 33 years. My mother used her vacation time to watch Haylie and our crazy animals so that my husband and I could go on our trip to Paris. Her and my father have helped us tremendously with fixing up our townhouse. They are great people and I appreciate all that they have sacrificed to help me get to where I am today.

4. My dogs- They are crazy sometimes but they are great pets. I only wish that they could live as long as people do. We bought them both when we lived in Texas, so they’ve done a bit of world traveling as well. I feel bad for Hurley as his place in my lap has been overtaken by a little person, but I try to give him special attention whenever possible. Oscar just loves to give Haylie kisses.

IMG_06405. Running- It’s been such a positive aspect of my life and I’m grateful that I am physically able to run. I’ve met so many wonderful people through running and I look forward to what’s in store for the future.

What makes you happy?

16 thoughts on “Five Things that Make Me Happy

  1. Awww, your dogs are so cute. Part of the reason I get up so early is so Gizmo can have some no dog time. Well, that & I’m a morning person. Unfortunately for Gizmo I now have to let Chester out early too, but he doesn’t mind Chester as much as Lola & Chester knows not to bother Giz.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Judy! I’m not naturally a morning person but I try to force myself to be. We have a parrot also that we have to keep far away from the dogs for the sake of his life. Hurley has it out for him.

      Like

  2. Your dogs are SOOOO cute!! We just have one (a red dapple) and he is our baby; we love Scooter so much! I’m glad they get along so well with Haylie; that’s great. Love your list, Alanna! Hope you have a great weekend!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Tara! We were nervous about how they would adjust to having her around but they seem to be handling it just fine. I’ve heard some horror stories from other people that had to get rid of their dog. I love how dapples look! I also wanted a brindle or piebald. I like their unique appearance. Have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It definitely is awesome! Having supportive parents can make a world of difference in your life. Thanks so much, Cynthia! Paris was amazing and I’m so grateful that I had the opportunity to go! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

