Paris: Part #2

Tuesday morning we dragged ourselves out of bed at 6:3o am. Who gets up at this hour on vacation?! This was the one day that I was going to pretty much be on my own for the entire day so I wanted to make the most of it. I began with a three-mile run. I wanted to do more but honestly all the walking from the previous day was exhausting. I’m not complaining by any means! I ran in the opposite direction of the previous day, toward the Eiffel Tower. Yeah I ran under the Eiffel Tower, no big deal. 🙂 I found a path with a ton of runners.

IMG_6567I was surprised by how many large groups of runners I saw there. It was awesome! If my french were better I might have tried to join in. I saw the wall of peace which was pretty awesome. Then I went back to shower and have some breakfast at the hotel.

First on my agenda was to find the Jardin des Tuileries. It was beautiful and there were little ponds everywhere. I loved the reclining chairs that they had around. I envisioned myself being a stay-at-home mom in Paris and bringing Haylie there everyday to play. A girl can dream!

IMG_6578Next I went to find Angelina’s Tea Room. I got the chocolate Africain to was recommended to me. It is a type of hot chocolate drink and also their signature drink. I got a St. Honore as well which was probably my favorite pastry of the entire trip. They were generous with the vanilla beans and it tasted amazing!

IMG_6593Along the way, I found the Madeleine bus stop. I had really been hoping to stumble upon since I had seen it on the map and was so excited!

IMG_6597Onto the Palais Garnier (Opera House) which was 10 Euro to get in. I didn’t think that was too bad. It was so great! They had a room where you could watch them practicing for an upcoming performance. The gift shop was also really nice.

IMG_6603

Opera House Selfie!
Opera House Selfie!

IMG_6613IMG_6614IMG_6621I found some random fancy mall. I didn’t buy anything but kept going up the stairs to take pictures of the ceiling because it was so beautiful. I was being a total tourist but I didn’t care. I did see an amazing running vest but it was 100 Euro and I just couldn’t justify spending that kind of money on it. I did take a picture though. The colors are just so pretty! If anyone wants to get me a nice present….. 🙂

IMG_6627IMG_6629

Awesome running vest!
Awesome running vest!

IMG_6630I finally made it to the Champs-Elysees next which is basically a big, fancy shopping district. I walked around for quite a while just taking everything in.

IMG_6647I had no intention of finding the Arc de Triomphe that day but happened to look up and there it was! I didn’t want to go in without my husband so I just walked around it trying to figure out how to get to it. I’m not gonna lie, it took me way longer than it should have to figure out that there was an underground tunnel to get there. I’m just going to blame that one on sleep deprivation and move on. For a brief period of time I was afraid that I would have to dart through traffic and hope not to die. Thankfully that was not the case!

IMG_6650I headed back to the hotel then later my husband and I went to dinner. We realized that you can see the very top of the Eiffel Tower from our room!

I don’t know if this is accurate but my phone said that I walked over 15 miles each day. Between running and all of the walking, I wouldn’t really be surprised if that’s pretty close.

IMG_6730I guess I did quite a bit today! 2 more days to go. I’m trying to get this all down while it’s still fresh in my mind. It’s really fun to relive everything too.

10 thoughts on “Paris: Part #2

  1. Awesome!! You hit some great places this day. Isn’t running there amazing? It feels like you are in a movie. I was bummed that we never made it to Angelina’s Tea Room. It was on our list but it never happened!

    Like

  2. Wow to all that walking!! You really took advantage of your time in Paris and saw just about everything! Your pictures look amazing. I’m so glad you had a fun time 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

