Paris: Part #1

Paris can pretty much be summed up into one word: Amazing! I had such a wonderful time. Though I’m pretty sure that you could spend months there and still not see everything. I was very fortunate to have this opportunity. Since my husband was traveling we there for work, my plane ticket was almost our only expense. I took a couple hundred pictures so I’m going to try to narrow it all down. My only complaint was that it went too fast!

We arrived early Sunday and dropped off out bags at our hotel room where they offered us free breakfast. (It was Mother’s Day in Paris and I was given a rose at the airport) There was a patisserie (pastry shop) right on the corner! We went to check out the train system first so that my husband would know how to get to work the following day. They have vending and coffee machines down there.

happy train doors
happy train doors

IMG_6444We went to check out Notre Dame next. It’s so beautiful!

IMG_6448

IMG_6509As we walked back, we saw the love locks. I guess it’s a touristy thing to do. I would later read an article about how the locks are weighing down the bridge and causing damage so they are being cut down. It was neat to see them though.

IMG_6453It rained a little on our way back, but otherwise we had lovely weather for the entire trip.

Hot chocolate with dessert!
Hot chocolate with dessert!

We of course had to go check out the Eiffel Tower on our first day.

IMG_6477

Croquembouche at a local patisserie
Croquembouche at a local patisserie

The next day we walked around a little in the morning before my husband had to go to work.

liberty flame
liberty flame

IMG_6487

double decker carousel
double decker carousel

IMG_6496I was excited to explore Paris by myself. I headed back over to Notre Dame in search of Bertie’s Cupcakery that I heard about from Sue @ This Mama Runs for Cupcakes. I ate way too many pastries this week! It’s a good thing that I did a lot of running and walking! I had a yummy strawberry lemonade cupcake while I was there. It’s a really cute, little place. IMG_6526IMG_6522

I also grabbed a crepe along the way at a small road side stand.

IMG_6504There are so many gardens in Paris! I love it! I found this really pretty fountain in one of the gardens on my walk back to the hotel. IMG_6530

Saint Julien fountain
Saint Julien fountain

IMG_6528

Then I went back to get a 6 mile run in by the Seine River.

IMG_6536

caramels and pate de fruit
caramels and pate de fruit

Later my husband and I went out to dinner and got to see the twinkle lights on the Eiffel Tower for the first time. They go off for 5 minutes each hour beginning at 10pm. It’s really cool and definitely something that you should see if given the opportunity.

Chocolate Minions!
Chocolate Minions!

The sun doesn’t set in Paris until around 10pm, so the longer days were nice too. That pretty much sums up the first 2 days, stay tuned for more!

10 thoughts on “Paris: Part #1

  1. AHHH!! So fun! It brought back so many memories! Glad you made it to Bertie’s! Was Bertie there?? I did not see the Liberty flame, where was that?

    Like

    1. It was so great, Sue! I actually didn’t get a chance to see if Bertie was there at the time. There were a few people waiting, so I didn’t want to cause a back up. The liberty flame was right near the Place de l’Alma train stop. It was fairly close to where we stayed at the Relais Bosquet Hotel.

      Like

  2. Welcome back! Those are great pictures, and it’s great you got to travel there with your husband! I wish I had a more exciting job where I got to travel the world πŸ™‚ Paris looks so beautiful and the food looks delicious! Can’t wait for the other parts of your trip.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Gretchen! My husband gets to travel a bit for work. He’s been to Austria several times in the last year or so. This was the first trip though that I really wanted to go on. It was really beautiful. The pictures hardly do it justice.

      Like

  3. CHOCOLATE MINIONS!!! I need to show Betty that picture tomorrow. She’ll go nuts!
    These photos are all so beautiful…it’s one of my dreams to go there! Thank you so much for sharing your trip with us!

    Like

  4. Paris looks beautiful! I’d love to run along the Seine River! And going to a French pastry shop is one of my top to-do items one day – looks so yummy! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

