Thinking out Loud

I’m linking up with Amanda for Thinking out Loud!

Screen Shot 2014-11-11 at 8.49.52 PMI’ve got a lot on my mind, as per usual. I’ll spare you all of the details. I feel like it’s been a hectic week but that’s mostly because my husband is in Austria for work. Thankfully, my mom was able to come down and help me out with my daughter. For some reason I think day care would frown upon me dropping her off at 4:30 in the morning. It turns out when my husband (aka the voice of reason) isn’t here I don’t like to sleep. I stay up way too late blogging and reading instead of sleeping. Otherwise, it’s a win-win situation. I get to spend time with my mom and Haylie gets to spend time with her Grandma. I still can’t wait for his return though. I’m very much a creature of habit.

Anyway, I wanted to talk briefly about my goals. Ultimately, I would love to BQ. I don’t know if this is an achievable goal for me since I’m not exactly the fastest runner but maybe if I really focused on speed work. I’d like to achieve this goal possibly by the time I’m 40. I figure by then I will done having children and my daughter will be older. It’s also kind of an expensive goal with the race fee and travel involved. If I’m never able to run Boston, it’ll be okay. I won’t be over whelming devastated or anything but I just can’t help think of how amazing it would feel to cross that finish line. It would be quite the rush!

Really, I’m just grateful to be able to run. It’s hard not to compare yourself to others who are faster and run longer distances but there are people who would be to be able to run at all. It’s been a great journey so far. I’ve met a lot of awesome people along the way. I hope running and I have many, many more years together. I’m also grateful for the support from my family, especially my husband since he has to watch our daughter while I’m always out running. He’s been amazing. I hope one day my daughter will want to run or be into some sort of sports at least. She already runs around the house all day like a crazy person. I really would love just a little bit of her energy! 

I’m excited because next month my MRTT group is having a craft night. We are going to be making our own medal hangers. I really need a proper place to display my medals! I’m hoping to make something like this but I’m not too sure about my crafting abilities. 

  

 One last thing, I ordered my Brooks Ravennas. I’m so excited to get them! New running shoes are the best! I hope that I love them. I found this cute poem by Kelsey Sheron @ The Blonder Side of Life:

Dear Running Shoes,
Roses are red and violets are blue;
I’ve got bad knees so I need a good shoe.
You’ve taken me on so many adventures;
I know you’ll be true till I’m wearing dentures.
Along this journey I’ve learned a thing or two,
Like look out for cars and don’t step in poo.
Also that outside is always better than the gym,
You fill me with joy right to the brim!
Whether I finish in the front, middle or back of the pack,
My love for you is an unwavering fact.
You’re always there to see me through –
The happy times, and the sad and blue.
I love you, Running Shoes, despite this bad knee;
You’re my best friend; don’t ever leave me….

That is all for now. Happy Thursday!!

Anyone else have a big racing goal? Do you have any tips/programs that you recommend for speed work?

8 thoughts on “Thinking out Loud

  1. I’m currently in the beginning stages of running so I don’t have any lofty goals set out yet, but I’d love to run my first race this summer (a small 5k preferably!), and if I could ever run a half… wow… that would be pretty neat too. Maybe one day!

    Like

    1. Racing is so addicting! I love the adrenaline rush. I’m sure that you could run a half one day. I never in my wildest dreams would have thought that I’d ever run a half, let alone a full marathon. You can do pretty much anything that you put your mind to!

      Like

  2. You can definitely BQ! I think there’s a benefit to all types of speed – you could do half mile repeats, mile repeats, two mile repeats… I really think it all helps! Long-term goals are great. I wish you the best of luck!

    Like

  3. BQ qualify!!! You can totally do it!!! I would pack my bags to cheer you on for sure!!

    My big racing goal for this year is to finish the year running a 2:15 half. i plan to attempt to shave a minute off my time each half this year to achieve this….we will see.

    If you don’t mind sharing the tips/programs that get recommended for speed work-that would be great.

    Happy Thursday!

    Like

    1. That would be awesome! I’d love to have you cheer me on! You can totally run a 2:15 half and I think that’s a great plan to achieve it. A little bit at a time. I’ll certainly pass along any speed work tips that I get.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this post! I’m similar to you – I would love to BQ, but I’m not going to dedicate my life to it. I follow a lot of really fast and inspiring runners that BQ’d on their first race without much training. I can’t do that and for a while it really bothered me. Now I’m happy where I am physically and mentally, so I’m ok with being an average, middle pack runner. For now 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks so much Gretchen! Some people are just natural runners. I’m okay at it but I work really hard for it too. It’s hard not to be at least a little jealous of really fast runners, but there’s absolutely nothing wrong with being average! : )

      Like

Leave a Reply

