A Saturday Pick-Me-Up

I’ve been a little down lately. Honestly, I think it’s the winter blues. While it hasn’t been the snowiest winter, it has been crazy cold this past month. It’s been really difficult to run outside with the below freezing temps and the blocked sidewalks. During the winter, I certainly can’t run as fast as I can the rest of the year. I don’t think most people can. The cold takes its toll on my lungs and body. One of the downfalls of having the Garmin is getting caught up in the numbers, so during the winter when my pace significantly slows I get disheartened. I need to remember that all of this hard work will pay off. They can’t all be the best runs! The temps and trying not to fall on icy sidewalks are beyond my control and I just have to do the best I can. I read a great article on Run Haven that really made me feel better. It brightened my whole day and outlook on my Saturday morning long run. I recommend taking the time to read it, if you too feel like you are in a bit of a running slump. “Sometimes we just have to hit our low points. But it’s the times we stick by our goals – no matter how low we get – that we can be the most proud of.”

Also, I made a yummy and healthy treat this weekend. What ever did we do before Pinterest?! Healthy Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Oat Bars {vegan and gluten free}

IMG_5562

Leave a Reply

