Rock’n’Roll Half Marathon Training Week 8: February 9-15

I may not be the fastest runner out there but I’m certainly not the slowest either. I do the best I can. I would certainly love to BQ but that may be a lofty goal. Perhaps one day, when my daughter is a bit older and I have more time to dedicate to training. I love training! I’ve been using Hal Higdon’s free training programs. He has such a wide variety of programs for runners of all levels. Plus it’s free! Who doesn’t love that?! I really enjoy having a strict schedule to follow. It brings some sort of structure to the chaos. I actually print out the schedule and tape it to my bathroom mirror so I can constantly see it and have it in mind when planning my week. I like to cross each day off as I go along so it also gives me a sense of accomplishment. Having a training schedule really helps to keep me motivated, especially with these chilly temps! Obviously life happens, you get sick, injured or whatever so some flexibility is required but for the most part I’m great about sticking with my plan.

Monday- Rest day from the previous weekend. I love and hate rest days. Sometimes it’s hard to allow myself to relax.

Tuesday- 3 miles @ 8:40. It was a pretty good run especially with it being it the upper 30’s. My runs during the week are usually pretty short and sweet since I’m rushing to get them in prior to having to pick up my daughter from daycare.

Wednesday- 3 miles @ 9:25. I wasn’t feeling it today. That’s one of the down sides about afternoon runs. In the winter, it’s nice because it’s warmer but I’m already worn out from a long day at work. At least the weather was nice again.

Thursday- 5 miles @ 8:45. This is my Fleet Feet Running Club night. I always love those runs! Such great company! We were mostly focused on not freezing to death though.

Friday-Rest day. I hung out with my daughter while daddy went grocery shopping.

Saturday- 10 miles @ 9:57. Not my best effort and definitely much slower than I’d hoped for. It was pretty chilly but I’ve run in colder weather. For some reason, it felt much colder than 21 degrees. My face was numb! I only saw one other runner the whole time but Sunday’s weather is going to be much worse so I’m glad I stuck it out. I forgot to bring any Gus, so that may have been a contributing factor as well. Afterward we had a nice family brunch and stopped at Buy Buy Baby for a few things. IMG_5409

IMG_5425

Sunday- I do my cross training on Sundays, which is usually Orange Theory. This week they cancelled it because of the weather. I was expecting an email or phone call though. Apparently they announced it on Facebook an hour before the class. I only allow myself enough time in the morning to do what I have to do and checking Facebook is not one of those things. So I was pretty bummed. I decided to get an early start on laundry since I also have to make some cheesecakes today for my husband to take to work. Hopefully I can make up the workout tomorrow. Have a great week! I’m off to check on some cheesecakes!

Leave a Reply

